Prof. Ranjith Bandara re-elected as COPE chair



Member of Parliament (Prof.) Ranjith Bandara, was re-elected as the new Chair of the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) with a majority of votes. 

He was elected at the first meeting of the Committee on Public Enterprises held today (23) for the Fourth Session of the Ninth Parliament.
The name of (Prof.) Ranjith Bandara was proposed by State Minister and MP Jagath Pushpakumara and was seconded by MP Mahindananda Aluthgamage.

The name of MP Eran Wickramaratne, for the position of COPE Chair was proposed by MP Nalin Bandara and seconded by MP Rauff Hakeem. 

Hon. (Prof.) Ranjith Bandara received 17 votes whilst Hon. Eran Wickramaratne received 6 votes and accordingly, was elected as the chair.

Mayantha appointed as COPF chair

Meanwhile, the committee on Public Finance, met for the first time today (23) under the patronage of newly appointed chairman, Member of Parliament Hon. Mayantha Dissanayake.

In terms of the Standing Orders of Parliament, MP – Mayantha Dissanayake, representing the opposition, was nominated as the Chairman of the Committee on Public Finance by the Committee of Selection which met today.


Exit mobile version