SC rejects preliminary objections by AG & Finance Secretary



The Supreme Court today rejected the preliminary objections filed by the Attorney General and the Finance Ministry Secretary requesting to dismiss two fundamental rights petitions submitted by the National People’s Power (NPP) and the PAFFREL organization requesting a verdict that the fundamental rights of the people have been violated by not holding the local government polls on March 9 as scheduled.

The decision was announced by the five-member Supreme Court bench comprising of Justices Buwaneka Aluwihare, Priyantha Jayawardena, Vijith K. Malalgoda, Murdhu Fernando and Gamini Amarasekara.

The petition was presented on behalf of NPP by its MP Harini Amarasuriya and former MP Sunil Handunnetti.

The petition is still being considered in the Supreme Court.


Exit mobile version