Weerasena Gamage sworn in as MP



Weerasena Gamage of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) has been sworn in as a Member of Parliament today (April 24).

He took oaths before Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena soon after the parliamentary proceedings commenced.

Weerasena was named to fill the parliamentary seat that was left vacant following the demise of SLPP’s Anuradhapura District MP H. Nandasena, who passed away on April 05 due to a sudden illness.

Accordingly, Weerasena was next in line on the SLPP list for the Anuradhapura District after securing a total of 38,242 votes upon contesting the 2020 Parliamentary Elections. He managed to place 9th in the preferential votes list.


Exit mobile version