Connect with us

Photo Story

First group of Chinese tourists arrive in Sri Lanka (Pics)



The first group of Chinese tourists to come to Sri Lanka after China relaxed travel restrictions on its citizens arrived from Katunayake Airport this morning (02).

This tourist group consisting of 120 people reached Sri Lanka from Guangzhou by SriLankan Airlines flight UL 1881.

They arrived in the country for an eight-day visit.

The Chinese tourists will travel to 20 countries including Sri Lanka, after Covid-19 restrictions were relaxed.


President Ranil meets Bangladesh Prime Minister




President Ranil Wickremesinghe held discussions with Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina this morning (June 10), according to the President’s Media Division.

The Bangladesh PM had assured President Ranil Wickremesinghe of Bangladesh’s support for Sri Lanka’s agricultural modernization program, the PMD adds.

Meanwhile, the President had also met with Dr. S. Jaishankar in New Delhi earlier today.

This was in the backdrop of the swearing-in ceremony of Indian Prime Minister Narenda Modi. The event was also attended by regional leaders such as Bhutan’s Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay and Nepal’s Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

Continue Reading


“Ravi”, a cinematic self reflection of half a century (Pics)




The “Ravi – Cinema Half-Century Self-Reflection” ceremony was held yesterday (June 05) at the Bandaranaike International Conference Hall in Colombo to honour veteran actor Ravindra Randeniya for his five decades of service to Sri Lankan cinema.

Randeniya, who began his career with the 1974 film ‘Taranga,’ has appeared in over 100 films and received numerous awards, including the Swarna Sankha O.C.I.C. Best Actor award and the Darshan Suri Award. 

Two biographies of Randeniya, written by Gamini Weragoda and Uditha Devapriya, were launched during the event.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe, who presided over the event, praised Randeniya’s contributions to cinema and recalled their political collaboration.

Continue Reading

Photo Story

5 High Commissioners, 9 Ambassadors present credentials to the President (Pics) 




President Ranil Wickremesinghe received the credentials of five newly appointed High Commissioners and nine Ambassadors to Sri Lanka at the Colombo Fort President’s House this morning (June 05). 

The High Commissioners representing New Zealand, the Republic of Cyprus, the Maldives, the Republic of Sierra Leone, and the Republic of Mauritius were present. Additionally, Ambassadors from the Republic of Guatemala, the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria, the Republic of Estonia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, the Republic of Colombia, the Republic of Turkey, Ireland, the Hellenic Republic (Greece), and the Republic of Bulgaria also handed over their credentials.

A brief ceremony was organized at the Colombo Fort Presidential Palace to officially welcome the new High Commissioners and Ambassadors.

Below is the list of the new High Commissioners and Ambassadors who presented their credentials to President Wickremesinghe today:

1. Mr. Omar Castañeda Solares – Ambassador of the Republic of Guatemala based in New Delhi

2. Mr. Ali Achoui – Ambassador of the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria in New Delhi

3. Ms. Marje Luup – Ambassador of the Republic of Estonia in New Delhi

4. Mr. Bounmy Vanmany – Ambassador of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic based in New Delhi

5. Mr. Victor Hugo Echeverri – Ambassador of the Republic of Colombia based in New Delhi

6. Mr. David Gregory Pine – High Commissioner of the New Zealand based in Colombo

7. Mr. Semih Lütfü Turgut – Ambassador of the Republic of Türkiye based in Colombo

8. Mr. Evagoras Vryonides – High Commissioner of the Republic of Cyprus based in New Delhi

9. Mr. Kevin Kelly – Ambassador of Ireland based in New Delhi

10. Mr. Masood Imad – High Commissioner of the Republic of Maldives based in Colombo

11. Ms. Aliki Koutsomitopoulou – Ambassador of the Hellenic Republic based in New Delhi

12. Mr. Abu Bakarr Karim – High Commissioner of the Republic of Sierra Leone based in Beijing

13. Dr. Nikolay Yankov – Ambassador of the Republic of Bulgaria based in New Delhi

14. Mr. Haymandoyal Dillum – High Commissioner of the Republic of Mauritius based in New Delhi

Minister of Foreign Affairs Ali Sabri PC, along with President’s Secretary Saman Ekanayake, were also present at the occasion.

Following the acceptance of credentials, President Ranil Wickremesinghe engaged in  friendly discussion with the new High Commissioners and Ambassadors. Senior Advisor to the President on National Security and Chief of Staff to the President Sagala Ratnayaka, Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Aruni Wijewardena, and other officials also attended the event.

(President’s Media Division)

Continue Reading


Copyright © 2024 Sri Lanka Mirror. All Rights Reserved