Connect with us

Photo Story

Returned artefacts displayed at Colombo National Museum (Pics)



Following a milestone in international relations and provenance research, six priceless Kandyan artefacts seized during the Dutch colonial occupation of Sri Lanka have been returned from the Netherlands. 

These Kandyan artefacts will be on public display at the Colombo National Museum from today (Nov. 05) until further notice.

A commemorative postage stamp issued during the event serves as a symbolic marker, celebrating the milestone in international relations and provenance research. The event took place at the National Museum today, presided over by the Minister of Buddha Sasana and Cultural Affairs, Mr. Vidura Wickramanayake, and the President’s Senior Adviser on National Security and Chief of Presidential Staff, Mr. Sagala Ratnayaka. This marked a significant step in cultural collaboration between the two nations.

The exhibits include golden and silver kasthãné (ceremonial swords), two maha thuwakku (wall guns), and Lewke Disave’s cannon, which were originally taken as war booty by the Dutch East India Company in 1765, during the siege of the Palace of Kandy.

In attendance at this distinguished occasion were the Minister of State for Media, Shantha Bandara, the Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to Sri Lanka, Ms. Bonnie Horbach, the Ambassador for International Cultural Cooperation at the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ms. Dewi van de Weerd, Ambassador of Egypt in Sri Lanka Maged Mosleh the Secretary to the Ministry of Buddha Sasana and Cultural Affairs, Mr. Somaratne Vidanapathirana, the Director General of the National Museum Department, Sajani Kasturiarachchi, and several distinguished officials from both the Netherlands and Sri Lanka.

(President’s Media Division)


President Ranil meets Bangladesh Prime Minister




President Ranil Wickremesinghe held discussions with Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina this morning (June 10), according to the President’s Media Division.

The Bangladesh PM had assured President Ranil Wickremesinghe of Bangladesh’s support for Sri Lanka’s agricultural modernization program, the PMD adds.

Meanwhile, the President had also met with Dr. S. Jaishankar in New Delhi earlier today.

This was in the backdrop of the swearing-in ceremony of Indian Prime Minister Narenda Modi. The event was also attended by regional leaders such as Bhutan’s Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay and Nepal’s Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

Continue Reading


“Ravi”, a cinematic self reflection of half a century (Pics)




The “Ravi – Cinema Half-Century Self-Reflection” ceremony was held yesterday (June 05) at the Bandaranaike International Conference Hall in Colombo to honour veteran actor Ravindra Randeniya for his five decades of service to Sri Lankan cinema.

Randeniya, who began his career with the 1974 film ‘Taranga,’ has appeared in over 100 films and received numerous awards, including the Swarna Sankha O.C.I.C. Best Actor award and the Darshan Suri Award. 

Two biographies of Randeniya, written by Gamini Weragoda and Uditha Devapriya, were launched during the event.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe, who presided over the event, praised Randeniya’s contributions to cinema and recalled their political collaboration.

Continue Reading

Photo Story

5 High Commissioners, 9 Ambassadors present credentials to the President (Pics) 




President Ranil Wickremesinghe received the credentials of five newly appointed High Commissioners and nine Ambassadors to Sri Lanka at the Colombo Fort President’s House this morning (June 05). 

The High Commissioners representing New Zealand, the Republic of Cyprus, the Maldives, the Republic of Sierra Leone, and the Republic of Mauritius were present. Additionally, Ambassadors from the Republic of Guatemala, the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria, the Republic of Estonia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, the Republic of Colombia, the Republic of Turkey, Ireland, the Hellenic Republic (Greece), and the Republic of Bulgaria also handed over their credentials.

A brief ceremony was organized at the Colombo Fort Presidential Palace to officially welcome the new High Commissioners and Ambassadors.

Below is the list of the new High Commissioners and Ambassadors who presented their credentials to President Wickremesinghe today:

1. Mr. Omar Castañeda Solares – Ambassador of the Republic of Guatemala based in New Delhi

2. Mr. Ali Achoui – Ambassador of the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria in New Delhi

3. Ms. Marje Luup – Ambassador of the Republic of Estonia in New Delhi

4. Mr. Bounmy Vanmany – Ambassador of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic based in New Delhi

5. Mr. Victor Hugo Echeverri – Ambassador of the Republic of Colombia based in New Delhi

6. Mr. David Gregory Pine – High Commissioner of the New Zealand based in Colombo

7. Mr. Semih Lütfü Turgut – Ambassador of the Republic of Türkiye based in Colombo

8. Mr. Evagoras Vryonides – High Commissioner of the Republic of Cyprus based in New Delhi

9. Mr. Kevin Kelly – Ambassador of Ireland based in New Delhi

10. Mr. Masood Imad – High Commissioner of the Republic of Maldives based in Colombo

11. Ms. Aliki Koutsomitopoulou – Ambassador of the Hellenic Republic based in New Delhi

12. Mr. Abu Bakarr Karim – High Commissioner of the Republic of Sierra Leone based in Beijing

13. Dr. Nikolay Yankov – Ambassador of the Republic of Bulgaria based in New Delhi

14. Mr. Haymandoyal Dillum – High Commissioner of the Republic of Mauritius based in New Delhi

Minister of Foreign Affairs Ali Sabri PC, along with President’s Secretary Saman Ekanayake, were also present at the occasion.

Following the acceptance of credentials, President Ranil Wickremesinghe engaged in  friendly discussion with the new High Commissioners and Ambassadors. Senior Advisor to the President on National Security and Chief of Staff to the President Sagala Ratnayaka, Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Aruni Wijewardena, and other officials also attended the event.

(President’s Media Division)

Continue Reading


Copyright © 2024 Sri Lanka Mirror. All Rights Reserved