Connect with us


Sri Lanka-Pakistan First Test in Galle



Sri Lanka will take Pakistan in the first of the two-match test series in Galle this morning.

The game is scheduled to get underway at 10am at the Galle International Cricket Stadium.

The last time the two Asian cricket giants met in while clothing, the series was a 1-1 draw.

Both teams will be looking to ensure that the result is better for them this time.

Pakistan have had a tough time in the longer format in the recent past.

In their last fibe Tests, they have not won a single match.

The three Tests vs England at home were all losses while New Zealand went to Pakistan to play 2 draws.

Babar and his men will be looking to rectify the mistakes and come out on top at the end of the series.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka beat Ireland 2-0, in their lat bilateral Test series.

The hosts have met Ireland, Pakistan, Australia, and the West Indies at the venue since November 2021, winning six of the eight Tests.

Of the two losses at the venue, one came against Pakistan last year. In the first Test of the series then, Pakistan incredibly chased down 342 in the final innings, the highest successful run-chase at the venue.

The second Test will be played at the SSC grounds, starting on July 24.


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Nishan Madushka, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Matthews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Ramesh Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Vishwa Fernando, Lakshitha Manasinghe

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood


SL over 60s cricket team ranked 4th in the world




The Sri Lanka Over-60s cricket team, led by Garry Gunasekara, achieved a commendable 4th place in the recently concluded Over-60s Cricket World Cup in Chennai. 

Twelve teams, including all major cricketing nations except Pakistan and Bangladesh, participated in the tournament.

In the group league stages, Sri Lanka secured victories against India, Wales, and the Rest of the World. 

They also tied with the West Indies and suffered their only defeat to Australia, finishing 2nd in the group. 

Sri Lanka faced England in the first semi-final, resulting in a loss, while New Zealand lost to Australia in the second semi-final. Australia went on to convincingly win the final against England.

In the third-place match, Sri Lanka faced New Zealand and narrowly lost by 20 runs, ultimately securing the 4th position in the Over-60s Cricket World Cup.

Continue Reading


Dickwella replaces Kusal in SL T20 Squad




The Cricket Selection Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket has announced Niroshan Dickwella as the replacement for Kusal Janith Perera in the upcoming Twenty20 International (T20I) Series against Bangladesh.

The series is scheduled to commence on Monday in Sylhet.

Kusal Janith Perera, originally included in the T20I squad, will miss the series due to a respiratory infection.

Perera did not join the team on their departure to Bangladesh on Thursday. 

In light of his absence, Niroshan Dickwella has been named as the replacement and is expected to join the team ahead of the first T20I match at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Sylhet.

The T20I series against Bangladesh consists of three matches, with the second and third T20Is scheduled for March 6 and 9, respectively, at the same venue.

Continue Reading


Inaugural Lanka T10 league in December




The inaugural edition of the Lanka T10 League will be held from December 12 to December 22, 2024.
The tournament, which was initially planned to be held in 2023, will now be held in December this year, which provides us with an ideal window to conduct a successful competition.

Lanka T10 League, Sri Lanka’s newest addition to its annual cricket calendar will feature some of the finest international stars along with Sri Lanka’s top international stars.

The action-packed competition will also provide opportunities for the brightest young talents in the country to mix, mingle, and play along with international stars.

” I have full confidence that this tournament will be a resounding success, contributing to Sri Lanka Cricket’s ability to stay current with the evolving trends in the game.,” said Shammi Silva, President, Sri Lanka Cricket.

Adding more thoughts on the Lanka T10 December tournament, Mr Shammi Silva added, “We foresee that this event will not solely captivate cricket enthusiasts, but also serve as a catalyst for popularizing the tournament broadly.”

Mr. Anil Mohan, the Founder and CEO of IPG Group and one of the constituent member of the consortium holding the Event rights for the Lanka T10 League, “This is a great stepping stone for us as we get to organise another exciting chapter in Sri Lankan Cricket. Our league unites the top international stars and local talent on an exciting platform for cricket enthusiasts worldwide. Together, we aim to make history and elevate the game with every thrilling match.”

The tournament will feature six men’s teams covering regional cricket epicenters, with each team consisting of a squad of 16 players, along with six foreign players.

“We’re thrilled to bring T10 cricket to Sri Lanka, and we’re grateful to SLC for their support. This league holds added significance as it is formally endorsed by esteemed members like SLC, highlighting the credibility and excitement surrounding this new era in Sri Lankan cricket.” Shaji ul Mulk, Chairman of TTen Global Sports, representing the Lead Partner, of the Event Rights Consortium.

The matches will be played in some of Sri Lanka’s top international cricket venues and under lights.


Continue Reading


Copyright © 2023 Sri Lanka Mirror. All Rights Reserved