Sri Lanka-Pakistan First Test in Galle



Sri Lanka will take Pakistan in the first of the two-match test series in Galle this morning.

The game is scheduled to get underway at 10am at the Galle International Cricket Stadium.

The last time the two Asian cricket giants met in while clothing, the series was a 1-1 draw.

Both teams will be looking to ensure that the result is better for them this time.

Pakistan have had a tough time in the longer format in the recent past.

In their last fibe Tests, they have not won a single match.

The three Tests vs England at home were all losses while New Zealand went to Pakistan to play 2 draws.

Babar and his men will be looking to rectify the mistakes and come out on top at the end of the series.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka beat Ireland 2-0, in their lat bilateral Test series.

The hosts have met Ireland, Pakistan, Australia, and the West Indies at the venue since November 2021, winning six of the eight Tests.

Of the two losses at the venue, one came against Pakistan last year. In the first Test of the series then, Pakistan incredibly chased down 342 in the final innings, the highest successful run-chase at the venue.

The second Test will be played at the SSC grounds, starting on July 24.


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Nishan Madushka, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Matthews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Ramesh Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Vishwa Fernando, Lakshitha Manasinghe

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood


Exit mobile version