Mar 23, 2017

Sasikala gets hat ; Panneerselvam gets Electricity pole

The Election Commission on Wednesday froze the AIADMK’s “Two Leaves” symbol, prohibiting its use in the coming R.K. Nagar byelection in Chennai.

The decision came after the EC heard the rival factions of O. Panneerselvam and V.K. Sasikala, who had staked their claim to the symbol. Pending a final resolution of the dispute, the factions have also been barred from using the party’s name in the bypoll.

With the EC directing both factions to furnish names of their groups by Thursday, the faction led by former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa friend V.K. Sasikala submitted 'AIADMK Amma' as their party name.

The Sasikala-faction gave three options of symbols — Auto, Bat and Cap, to Election Commission. EC gave them ‘Auto Rickshaw’ symbol for contesting the RK Nagar by-poll.  When they requested for a change in symbol, the Election Commission gave 'Hat' as their election symbol.

The O. Panneerselvam faction submitted "Amma AIADMK" as their party name. But the EC asked the OPS faction to change the name. The faction finally decided on AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma. The camp was given ‘Electricity pole' symbol to fight the by-polls.