

## Media, Civil Society and Trade Union Collective to Rise against Oppressive Laws

276/3, Pradeepa Mawatha, Maligawatta, Colombo 10 TEL: 0112439276 EMAIL: collective.mct@gmail.com

29 -01-2024

Mr Mahinda Yapa Abeywardhana Honorable Speaker, The Parliament Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte

Honorable Speaker,

## Request not to endorse the Online Safety Bill without verifying Supreme Court directives have been fully adhered to

We, as civil society activists, firmly believe the Online Safety Bill which completely endangers freedom of expression should be rejected outright. As citizens holding the sovereignty of the country, we, the undersigned, express our strong objection to the hasty passage of the bill on 24 January in the parliament, sans discussion with any stakeholder, and ignoring the directives of the Supreme Court.

MPs of the opposition parties have pointed out that the bill was debated and passed in the parliament without the proper inclusion of amendments and guidelines directed by the Supreme Court. Those amendments and guidelines were issued by the Supreme Court after taking into consideration a record of 45 fundamental rights petitions challenging the draft bill.

We believe, that if what the opposition MPs point out had occurred during the passage of the bill, it clearly violates the Constitution, undermines the sovereignty of the people and has possibly caused contempt of court as well.

In this letter, we once again confirm that even if the bill is passed as an Act by the Parliament, we will not stop our fight against regulations that are stifling the right to freedom of expression. This letter is also our commitment to continue our fight against regulations that are going to be implemented despite our objections that not only impede our right to free expression but also cause possible harm to the economy.

It is clear that the government is attempting to make the Online Safety Bill into law urgently to counter the opposition against the government ahead of the forthcoming elections.

As the Speaker of Parliament who ensures parliamentary orders are followed, we believe it's your responsibility to guarantee that the Supreme Court-directed amendments are incorporated into the Online Safety Bill before endorsing it.

Therefore, we, as citizen activists and citizens who respect democracy, request you not to sign your consent to the bill until you are satisfied that the orders and guidelines sent to you by the Supreme Court are fully incorporated into the bill.

On behalf of the Joint Committee

2m

Duminda Sampath President Sri Lanka Working Journalists Association Tel. 0773181731

Free Media Movement Sri Lanka Working Journalists' Association Young Journalists' Association of Sri Lanka Media Law Forum Law and Society Trust Right to life human rights Center National Cooperative Development Fund Hashtag Generation Association of Health Professionals Sri Lanka Postal and Telecommunication Service Union All Ceylon Management Service Officers' Union Democratic Government Service Trade Union South Asia Free Media Association Ceylon Teachers' Union **Ceylon Trade Union Federation** United Postal Trade Union Front Savisthri National Women's Moment Uva Wellassa Women's Organization Movement for the Defence of Democratic Rights (MDDR) Free Media Movement Tarde Union (FMMTU) Ceylon Teachers' Union Moment for Land and Agriculture Reform (MONLAR) National Fisheries Solidarity Movement (NAFSO) Shramabhimani Center Dabidu Collective Women's Action for Social Justice (WASJ) United Federation of Labour (UFL) Federation of Media Employees Trade Unions (FMETU) Muslim Media Forum Jaffna Press Club Tamil Women Journalists Association Tamil Media Alliance Transparency International Sri Lanka

H. Jhrahm

Hana Ibrahim Convener, Free Media Movement Tel. 0777412995

Free Trade Zone Union South Asian Women in Media Network- Sri Lanka Ceylon Bank Employees Union (CBEU) South Asian Free Media Association People's Commission of Women in Sri Lanka The Voice of Truth Stand Up Movement in Sri Lanka Trade Union to Upliftment of Sri Lanka Railway Freedom Trade Union Center (FTUC) Prabha Abhilasha Network People's Alliance for Right to Land (PARL) Voice of the plantation people organization (VoPP) Sri Lanka All Telecommunication Employees' Union Unite – Trade Union and Mass Organization Collective Media.LK **RED** Organization Nature Foundation Media Pro-Tech PEN Sri Lanka National Movement for Social Justice Standup Workers Union Asian Media and Cultural Association Women Center Sri Lanka **Protect Union** Human Rights Documentation Center (INFORM) Citizens' Collective Vinividimu Organization Search for Common Grounds Institute for People Engagement and Networking (iPEN)

Father Sarath Iddamalgoda Rev. Asiri P Perera - Retired Bishop Prof Arjuna Pararkarama Prof Liyanage Amarakeerthi Prof Nirmal Ranjith Dewasiri Prof Vijaya Jayathilaka Dr Ravindra kariyawasam Dr Rathna Sri Wijesinghe Dr Kalpa Rajapaksa Senior Lecturer Anuruddha Pradeep Karnasuriya Thusitha Siriwardena, Attorney at Law D M Dissanayake, Attorney at Law Journalist Seetha Ranjanee Journalist Upali Kolambage Journalist Ananda Dharmapriya Jayasekara Journalist Thimbiriyagama Bandara Journalist Saroj Pathirana

Journalist T M G Chandrasekara Senior researcher Sarath Kellapatha Journalist Tharindu Iranga Jayawardena Journalist Sujeewa Senarath Littérateur S Nandalal Social Activist Jayani Abeysekara Journalist Jayasiri Jayasekara Journalist Prasad Poornimal Journalist Shalika Wimalasena Civil and Human Rights Activist Cyril Pathirage Creativist Nandasiri Dhrmaratne Dramatist and Civil Activist Roy Rodrigo Journalist Indika Roshan Garusinghe Journalist Chamara Sampath Civil and Human Rights Activist Suranga Rupasinghe Journalist Priyan R Wijebandara **Environmentalist Hemantha Withanage** Environmentalist Sajeewa Chamikara Trade Unionist Chinthaka Bandara Dramatist Ranasinghe Adhikari Lyricist Sudath Gamini Bandara Social Activist Thamara Dayani Heetimullage Shrinath Perera, Attorney at Law Journalist Nayanajeewa Bandara K.W. Janaranjana, Attorney at Law Journalist K. Sanjeewa Journalist Lasantha Ruhunage Journalist Sunil Jayasekara Journalists Sakeef Marine Engineer Kamal Wanniarachchi Social Activist Manjula Gajanayake Journalist Manjula Wediwardhana Social Activist Udaya Kalupathirana Economist Umesh Moramudali Social Activist Sandaya Eknaligoda Journalist Poddala Jayantha Journalist Thushara Weerarathna Journalist Jini Javasekara Journalist R. Yasiharan Social Activist Saman Senevirathna Tharushi Dishara Attorney at Law Social Activist Sujith Abeyewckreme Social Activist Chameera Dedduwage Freelance journalist Ravi Rathnaveil