

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

## ಕ್ಷಣ ಶಿಂಡಿತ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Extraordinary

අංක 2383/32 - 2024 මැයි මස 09 වැනි බුහස්පතින්දා - 2024.05.09 No. 2383/32 - THURSDAY, MAY 09, 2024

(Published by Authority)

### PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

#### **Government Notifications**

## FILLING A VACANCY UNDER SECTION 64(5) OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS

ACT, No. 01 OF 1981

WHEREAS, the General Secretary of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64(5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by the Elections (Special Provisions) Act, No. 35 of 1988, that a vacancy in the membership of Parliament has occurred due to the determination of the Supreme Court in the application No. S. C. Appeal No. 11/2024, that Mrs. Diana Gamage, who was nominated by the Samagi Jana Balawegaya, a recognized political party, and was declared elected as a Member of Parliament under Article 99A of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, is disqualified to be a Member of Parliament in terms of Article 91 (1) (d) (xiii) read with Article 66 (d) of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and is thus not entitled to hold office as a Member of Parliament of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka;

Whereas, the Election Commission has directed the secretary of the aforesaid political party to nominate a member of that party who is qualified under the said Section to fill the said vacancy;

And whereas, the secretary of the said political party has nominated Mr. Mohamad Mujibur Rahman to fill the vacancy;



2A

The Election Commission, acting under section 64(5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 read with provisions of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, announces that Mr. Mohamad Mujibur Rahman was declared elected as a Member of Parliament to fill the vacancy created due to the determination of the Supreme Court cancelling the parliamentary membership of Mrs. Diana Gamage aforesaid.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE, Chairman, Election Commission. M. A. P. C. PERERA, Member, Election Commission. AMEER FAAIZ, Member, Election Commission.

Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake, Member, Election Commission.

At the Election Commission, Rajagiriya, On this 09th day of May, 2024.

EOG 05 - 0077.