

අංක 2403/01 - 2024 සැප්තැම්බර් මස 23 වැනි සඳුදා - 2024.09.23 No. 2403/01 - MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2024

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

FILLING OF A VACANCY UNDER PARAGRAPH 13(b) OF ARTICLE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS, the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Parliament by reason of the resignation of Mr. Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Member of Parliament of the Electoral District No. 01- Colombo who assumed duties as the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, with effect from 23rd of September, 2024 ;

And Whereas, the Returning Officer, for the electoral district which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, to fill this vacancy as provided for under Sub Article 99(13)(b) of the Constitution;

AND Whereas, the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, and in terms of Sub Article 99(13)(b) of the Constitution has made a return in Form "M" set out in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that Mr. Lakshman Nipuna Arachchi was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said electoral district;



1A - G 42725 - 369 (09/2024) This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from www.documents.gov.lk 2A I කොටස : (I) ඡෙදය - ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2024.09.23 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 23.09.2024

NOW Therefore, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, does hereby notify that Mr. Lakshman Nipuna Arachchi has been declared elected as a Member of the Ninth Parliament for the Electoral District No. 01 – Colombo Electoral District to fill the vacancy caused by reason of the resignation of Mr. Anura Kumara Dissanayake.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE, Chairman, Election Commission. **M. A. P. C. PERERA,** Member, Election Commission.

AMEER FAAIZ, Member, Election Commission.

A. SHANMUGANATHAN, Member, Election Commission. Prof. LAKSHMAN DISSANAYAKE, Member, Election Commission.

At the Election Commission, Rajagiriya, On this 23rd day of September, 2024.

EOG 09 - 0147